Legacy Awards

FEPS established the Legacy Awards in 2008 to honor outstanding teachers, staff, students, volunteers, alumni and community members who contribute to the success and excellent reputation of our school district.

“We are thrilled to continue recognizing the wonderful leaders contributing to the success of Eden Prairie Schools,” said Lisa Sisinni, FEPS Executive Director. “This program will allow us to shine a spotlight on individuals who are passionate about and dedicated to advocating for Eden Prairie students.”

To participate, nominations can be submitted online on behalf of the outstanding individuals from across Eden Prairie who have gone above and beyond making a difference in the lives of Eden Prairie students. Winners will be awarded for their contributions. Nominations close at 5:00pm on Friday, February 23, 2024 and nominations received after this time will not be considered.

Please click on the corresponding link below to submit your nomination.


Teacher of the Year  (Two Awarded: Early Childhood-Grade 5, Grade 6-12 & Tassel)

Staff of the Year

Volunteer of the Year

Alumnus or Community Leader of the Year

Those needing assistance can contact Lisa Sisinni at 952-975-7205 or lsisinni@foundationforepschools.org for more information.


The 2024 Legacy Award Winners

Teacher of the Year (6th Grade – TASSEL)
Julie Rochford, Special Education, Central Middle School
Teacher of the Year (Early Childhood – 5th Grade)
Michael Isaason, 5th Grade Teacher, Cedar Ridge Elementary
Staff Member of the Year 
Mitch Hegland, Associate Principal, Eagle Heights Spanish Immersion
Volunteer of the Year
Gretchen Meek, Forest Hills PTO

The 2023 Legacy Award Winners

Teacher of the Year (6th Grade – TASSEL)
Erin Webster, 8th Grade English/Language Arts, Central Middle School
Teacher of the Year (Early Childhood – 5th Grade)
Jessica Premo, Special Education, Prairie View Elementary School
Staff Member of the Year (6th Grade – TASSEL)
Hani Abdi, Somali Cultural Liaison, Eden Prairie High School
Staff Member of the Year (Early Childhood – 5th Grade)
Debbie Plager, Literacy Para and Former Kindergarten Teacher, Forest Hills Elementary School
Volunteer of the Year
Jessica Engelstad, Forest Hills PTO

The 2022 Legacy Award Winners

Teacher of the Year (Early Childhood – 5th Grade):
Jeff Thelen, 3rd Grade – Forest Hills Elementary

Teacher of the Year (6th Grade – Tassel):
Eric Hanson, 7th Grade – Central Middle School

Volunteer of the Year:
Krystal Caron – Early Childhood and Forest Hills PTOs

Alumnus/Community Leader of the Year:
Anne Byrne

Staff Members of the Year:
Amy Antilla, School Nurse – Oak Point and Eagle Heights Spanish Immersion Elementary Schools
Martin Eckman, Custodian/Bus Driver – Cedar Ridge Elementary School
Linda Yelland, Social Worker – Central Middle School

The 2022 Legacy Award winners were honored at the FEPS Virtual Red and Black Gala on March 12, 2022.


Thank You For Your Support!

It’s because of you, our donors and partners, that we can support Eden Prairie students.